Deleting User Data in Pulsate
Introduction
Section titled “Introduction”Articles 16 and 17 of the GDPR outline the right to erasure, also known as the right to be forgotten. All users have the right to be erased if any of the following criteria apply:
- Where your personal data is no longer necessary in relation to the purpose for which it was collected or processed;
- Where you withdraw your consent to the processing and there is no other lawful basis for processing the data;
- Where you object to the processing and there is no overriding legitimate grounds for continuing the processing (See point 6 below).
- Where you object to the processing and your personal data is being processed for direct marketing purposes (See point 6 below);
- Where your personal data has been unlawfully processed;
- Where your personal data have to be erased in order to comply with a legal obligation;
- Where your personal data has been collected in relation to the offer of information society services to a child.
It is the right of the data controller to erase user data for any user based on a request that meets any of the above criteria. Pulsate has a number of tools to enable this, however, it remains the obligation of the data controller to ensure that user data is erased and to determine whether any of the above criteria has been met.
Erase a Pulsate User and their Data
Section titled “Erase a Pulsate User and their Data”There are a number of methods that can be utilised in Pulsate erase a user and all of their data:
- Delete a user and their data in the Pulsate CMS
- Send an API call to Pulsate to delete a user and their data via the Pulsate Delete User endpoint
Delete a User and their Data in the Pulsate CMS
Section titled “Delete a User and their Data in the Pulsate CMS”To manually delete a user using the Pulsate CMS, go to that user’s profile page and click the settings cog and press Delete. When you press Delete, you will be asked to confirm this action before it is completed. To confirm that you wish the user to be deleted, click Delete User.

Confirm Deletion
Delete a User and their Data via API call
Section titled “Delete a User and their Data via API call”To delete a user and their data using the Pulsate API, please see our documentation here.

